Archive for April 8th, 2009

08
Apr
09

It Would Have Been a Strike if it Went Further

I like Teddy Kennedy, I think he’s an awesome Senator and I’m glad he represents me in Congress. He’s a dedicated public servant and has done much for the people of the United States. It’s a good thing, because he doesn’t have a future pitching in the bigs..

Vodpod videos no longer available.


[Daily Kos]

08
Apr
09

Major League Turns 20

fd9qayofI was remiss in not paying attention to this yesterday, and for that, I truly apologize.

20 years ago yesterday, my favorite baseball movie, and where I learned most of my swears, Major League was released. Since then Ricky Vaughn, Willie Mays Hays and Pedro Cerrano have battled gamely every day, and it is impossible to flip past it on TV and not stop. I can recite every line in this movie, it makes me the happiest. I for one think Bull Durham is overrated and that Major League is by far the best baseball movie out there.

My only question, does Lou know that Jake is going to call his shot, is that part of the signs that Jake signals to him before his at-bat? Because if teams have a sign for calling ones shot, I’d find that ridiculous.

[MLB]

08
Apr
09

I Like Something Mets-Related!

I get accused sometimes of being anti-Mets, I’m not, I just think they have an awful GM, don’t care about their fans and have choked, viciously, the last two years. That’s not unfair right? However, I don’t give them enough props on the one thing they do better than anyone else in baseball; unique handshakes. Usually Jose Reyes has several and that’s the majority of the fun, but here is Mets ace Johan Santana making his way through the dugout, doing a special handshake with everyone. I’m impressed he remembers them all. The one with Alex Cora and taking off the hat is the best by the way.

[Homer Derby]

08
Apr
09

I Think the Fight Was Supposed to Go Longer

If I had to pick an awesome martial arts form to be a master of, I would choose Capoeira because A) it’s bad-ass and B) I really liked the movie “Only the Strong.” Here is Marcus “Lelo” Aurelio of AXE Capoeira Vancouver taking on Keegan ” The Marshall” Marshall in Vancouver on April 4th and knocking him the fuck out. Awesome




Follow The Slanch Report

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other subscribers

Sign Our Petition!

The Slanch Report has started an online petition asking the MLB Network to air the Dock Ellis no-hitter he threw on June 12, 1970 against the San Diego Padres. The moment was a seminal piece of baseball history and is certainly worthy of being rerun.

Please join us in this cause and sign the petition below so we can all share in this special and fantastic moment of baseball history. THANKS!
SIGN THE PETITION HERE! AND PLEASE TELL YOUR FRIENDS AND PASS THIS ALONG!

April 2009
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories